• Thu. May 19th, 2022

Android 12 update: Google warning millions of cell phone users

ByCindy J. Daddario

Dec 7, 2021


Google is warning millions of users when they could be spied on. These are the symbols that mean someone is looking at you.

Google is warning millions of Android users when apps might spy on them.

The new feature alerts users when the microphone or camera has been activated.

It’s very similar to a warning that already exists on rival Apple iPhone.

Google functionality was added to phones in the latest Android 12 update, reports The Sun.

So if you don’t have it, you won’t be able to see it.

The new indicator appears in the upper right corner of the screen.

You will see a camera or microphone icon when an app tries to access either one respectively.

This prevents apps from eavesdropping – or even looking through your camera.

You can also see a running log of which apps have access to your camera, microphone, or location – and when.

This information is available in the new privacy dashboard in settings.

It’s also now possible to turn off your microphone and camera entirely on the entire phone in your quick settings.

It should be remembered that seeing an icon does not mean that something bad is happening.

Sometimes an app really needs to use your camera, like Instagram.

But if you notice that your camera is being used by some strange app, it could mean that you are being spied on.

Cyber ​​experts have discovered countless apps that inappropriately accessed the camera on Android phones.

So be sure to use Android 12 and beware of any foul play.

If you think something is wrong, you need to check the app permissions in the settings.

For example, you can deny access to specific applications to your microphone or camera.

And if you are really worried, you can just delete the app completely.

Investigate fears

Fears that apps are spying on you have been around for years.

The iPhone camera alert last year raised concerns that Instagram was secretly filming users, but it was just a bug.

Many Facebook users say that they spoke something out loud, only for related ads to appear on the app soon after.

These users claim that they have never searched for this type of content before, and the only possible explanation is spying.

People think Facebook uses your phone’s microphone to eavesdrop on real-world conversations – to help target ads. But is it true?

Facebook has been very clear about this and said it is not using microphone recordings to better target ads.

“Facebook doesn’t use your phone’s microphone to notify ads or to change what you see in the news feed,” a company spokesperson said.

“Some recent articles suggest that we need to listen to people’s conversations in order to show them relevant ads. This is not true.

“We serve ads based on people’s interests and other profile information, not what you speak out loud.

“We only access your microphone if you’ve given permission to our app and you’re actively using a specific feature that requires audio.

“This could include recording a video or using an optional feature we introduced two years ago to include music or other audio in your status updates. “

There has never been solid evidence – beyond hearsay and anecdotes – that Facebook is recording your actual conversations.

However, it is quite possible that other malicious apps could eavesdrop on what you are doing.

Google’s new feature is therefore the perfect defense for questionable apps that play quickly and freely with your privacy.

This article was originally published by The Sun and reproduced with permission

Read related topics:Google