• Sat. Jul 2nd, 2022

Facebook account deletion: how to delete your FB account via mobile app or desktop

ByCindy J. Daddario

Nov 28, 2021


Facebook has been around for over 15 years. It has nearly three billion monthly active users and is one of the most popular social media platforms on the internet. Chances are, if you are reading this, you have a Facebook account. Facebook allows users to deactivate or permanently delete their account. Once you decide to delete your account, it will become difficult to recover the information if you change your mind 30 days after deleting the account.

Facebook owned by Meta allows you to delete an account through the mobile apps on Android and iOS or through a web browser. You should note that Facebook only allows you to undo an account deletion and all of its posts and information within 30 days. For the account and all of its information to be completely deleted, Facebook needs a maximum of 90 days.

Delete Facebook account via mobile app / browser

Facebook allows you to delete your accounts through your Android or iOS. Here’s how:

  1. Tap the hamburger icon in the top right corner.

  2. Scroll down and click Settings and privacy and click on Settings.

  3. Faucet Personal and Account Information.

  4. Click on Account ownership and control. If you have access to a page, click Profile access and control.

  5. Press on Deactivation and deletion.

  6. To select Delete account and click on Continue deleting the account.

  7. Choose one of the reasons on the screen or click Continue deleting the account.

  8. Scroll down and select Delete account.

Delete Facebook account via desktop

Facebook also allows you to delete your account through a desktop browser. Follow these steps to delete your account:

  1. Open the Facebook website.
  2. Click the down arrow in the upper right corner.
  3. Head toward Settings and privacy and click on Settings.
  4. Click on Your Facebook information menu panel on the left. If you have access to a page, click Privacy then Your Facebook information.
  5. To choose Deactivation and deletion at the bottom of the page and click Seen.
  6. To select Delete account and head to Continue deleting the account.
  7. To select Delete account.
  8. Enter your password to verify and click To continue.

Once you delete your account and the 30-day recovery period is over, you will no longer be able to recover it or access any data you posted. You will also lose access to Facebook Messenger and lose access to other apps that require your Facebook login credentials. Additionally, deleting a Facebook account linked to an Oculus headset will remove all information on the VR headset.


For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Satvik Khare is a sub-editor at Gadgets 360. His expertise is to show how technology makes life easier for everyone. Gadgets have always been a passion for him and he often finds his way into new technologies. In his spare time he enjoys tinkering with his car, participating in motorsports, and if the weather is bad, he can be found doing laps on Forza Horizon on his Xbox or reading great fiction. He can be contacted through his Twitter account … More

Redmi CEO Teases New Phone With Dimensity 7000, Redmi K50 Gaming Edition Spec Leak

Related stories